DormBySchoolthe college packing checklist

University of Minnesota: recommended laptop specification

No — this is a recommendation, not a requirement. University of Minnesota (College of Science and Engineering) publishes a suggested configuration: 16GB RAM. You are not obliged to buy a machine that matches it.

Recommended only. University of Minnesota publishes this as guidance. An existing laptop that does the job is usually fine — do not buy a new machine on the strength of this page alone.

The published specification

Operating system: Windows 11 or macOS

Processor: Intel Core i7 or AMD Ryzen (multi-core)

Memory (RAM): At least 16 GB

Storage: At least a 256 GB solid-state drive (SSD); 512 GB is preferred for better performance

Graphics: Not required: "While upgrading memory or adding a GPU (graphics processing unit) may enhance performance, it is not required." Students expecting to run graphics-heavy software locally "may want to consider a laptop with a dedicated GPU".

Also listed on the same page

CSE names example configurations rather than mandates — Mac: 13-inch MacBook Air, Apple M4 chip with 10-core CPU and 10-core GPU, 24 GB memory, 512 GB SSD. Windows: Dell Pro Series — standard use (incl. AppsToGo) Intel Core i5 / 16 GB RAM / 256 GB SSD; high-performance needs (running MATLAB or Ansys locally) Intel Core i7 / 32 GB RAM / 512 GB SSD.

The verdict: nothing here obliges you to buy. University of Minnesota suggests 16GB RAM; treat that as a target, not a gate. A laptop you already own that does your coursework fits.

Source

Taken from University of Minnesota's own published page: https://cse.umn.edu/college/future-students/laptop-recommendations-cse-students — stated for Not stated on the page.. Verified 2026-08-25. Specifications change every intake, so confirm against that page before you buy.

Laptops that meet this specification

Product links go to Amazon search — as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Links never change the checklist.

Search Amazon for laptop 16GB RAM

See price on Amazon

The search is built from the capacities University of Minnesota actually prints, so compare each result against the published specification above before ordering — listings change and this page does not track stock or price.

University of Minnesota laptop requirements: common questions

Does University of Minnesota require students to have a laptop?

No — this is a recommendation, not a requirement. University of Minnesota (College of Science and Engineering) publishes a suggested configuration: 16GB RAM. You are not obliged to buy a machine that matches it.

What laptop specification does University of Minnesota publish?

University of Minnesota (College of Science and Engineering) publishes 16GB RAM, on Windows 11 or macOS. It is guidance, not an obligation. Confirm against the source page before buying.

Where does this University of Minnesota laptop specification come from?

University of Minnesota's own published page at https://cse.umn.edu/college/future-students/laptop-recommendations-cse-students, stated for Not stated on the page.. Verified 2026-08-25. Specifications change every intake.

Packing for University of Minnesota

A laptop is one line on a longer list. See the full University of Minnesota dorm packing list for bedding, storage and the rest of move-in.

Laptop requirements at other schools: University of Missouri · University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · University of North Texas · University of Oklahoma · University of Oregon · University of Pittsburgh

Compare every school that publishes one: college laptop requirements table.

Find DormBySchool in your Google results more often: